Gone Haywire

If you ever happen to be lying on the ground in my living room (no judgement on how you got there), I apologize because I’m hiding a dirty secret: the cables under my TV are a disaster zone.

wires gone haywire

Aside from the fact that my messy cables are (I’m pretty sure) a mini-fire hazard, they look so unappealing! I kind of pride myself on being one of those women who gets technology – I can work my way around wiring a sound system, and can get the TV/cable/internet working when it isn’t (usually by unplugging  for a bit and swearing under my breath). But one thing I’m not proud of is how much of a mess everything looks on the ground. I’ve tried the old twist tie method, and have taken pains to label all my wires and trying to have them neatly wrapped and folded so they take up less space. For whatever reasons, I’ve clearly failed.

Thankfully, I’m not the only one with this issue, which means there are answers to my problems. There are a lot of really cool cable storage solutions out there. Some favourites I’ve found:

The Hansen for Tivoli Audio cabinet - made for a particular type of speaker, but the idea is awesome.

This was featured on Design Milk recently, and looks awesomely retro. The Hansen for Tivoli Audio cabinet – made for a particular type of speaker, but the idea is awesome.

Now you see it...now you don't!

Now you see it…now you don’t! I love the industrial look of these Bluelounge Cableboxes…and I love that they come in a bunch of colours.

Ikea simplicity - this box does exactly what it needs to do, looks good and is the best value.

Ikea simplicity – this box does exactly what it needs to do, looks good and is the best value.

If you’re looking for a solution that’s a little more fun to set up and less costly, there are some really cool DIY ideas out there for how to wrangle those finicky cables. Apartment Therapy has an awesome idea of using rain gutters to hold your cables under a workdesk or you can try this handmade charging station  which looks so great and is so practical.

So now I have no excuse for not getting a handle on my cable scandal…

Leave a Reply

