Crepes, bien sur

When I was 17, my mom and I went to Paris on a weeklong vacation to visit a friend of hers. While the two of them were off going to art museums and catching up, I got some time to explore the city on my own. Something I discovered? I love crepes! Left to my own devices, I practically lived on them – I would buy myself a savoury one for breakfast and lunch, then grab a sweet one for a quick dessert before heading back to wherever I was meeting them for the evening.

photo (75)

In Romanian food culture, we have our own crepes (called clatite) that are essentially the same thing – very very thin pancakes. And they’re something my mom (thankfully) makes quite often. They are delicious and super easy to make:

What You Need:

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 eggs

1.5 cups milk

1/4 teaspoon salt

Lemon and orange zest (optional)

Vanilla extract (optional)

Step 1: Sift the dry ingredients together and set aside.

Step 2: Beat eggs and milk together in a separate bowl, using an electric mixer.

Step 3: Slowly add the dry ingredients into the egg mixture in sections, stirring well. Add butter at the end (plus, add zest and vanilla to taste).

Step 4: Heat a lightly oiled griddle/shallow frying pan on medium. Scoop batter onto griddle (about 2 tbsp per crepe) and tip the pan around, rotating until the batter is thinly coated and covers the whole surface of the pan. Brown on both sides and, voila!

They do take a bit of practice (especially in terms of flipping them over), but by and large it’s a pretty simple recipe to remember and master.

photo (76)

My preferred way of eating crepes is smeared with either jam (blueberry!) or Nutella (aka the source of all goodness) and rolled. But you can easily make the crepes savoury (add some cheese and bacon to the crepe as it is cooking and fold in half – like an omlette – for melty goodness).

Next on my list of things to try with crepes? Crepe cakes – like this amazing sounding Grand Marnier version from Epicurious or any one of these ideas from the Huffington Post (especially this lemon strawberry crepe cake, which is basically a strawberry shortcake but with flat pancakes). Vive la very thin pancake!

Leave a Reply

