Love Day, 2013

It’s coming up on Valentine’s and you all know what that means – the start of Hallmark holidays! I actually quite like Valentine’s day. Don’t get me wrong, though – I’m not in the camp of needing a dozen red roses, chocolates in a heart-shaped box, a fancy dinner and over-the-top card. In fact, my Valentine’s Days with my boyfriend weren’t, on the face of them, anything out of the ordinary. Last year, because we were apart on the actual day, my boyfriend sent me a card in the mail (in the physical mail, which, given the connectedness  to technology we all have these days, is romantic in and of itself) and the year before, we watched hockey and ate homemade chocolate-covered strawberries together. This year? I’m heading to Ottawa for a long weekend (thank you, Family Day!), and we will try out a tapas restaurant called Navarra.

Despite the seemingly casual Valentine’s we have spent together, it is a day I look forward to spend with him every year. When it comes to February 14th, I’m a firm believer that it’s not worth the stress and pressure to have the “perfect Valentine’s” when all you really need is to be together, without interruptions (cliche aside). And even though we should always tells those we love that we appreciate them, this particular day always gives me that extra push to show how much I care. I mean, really, who can avoid all that marketing pressure?

On that love note, here are a few love-themed things I adore…Happy Valentine’s Day, everyone!

valentines day

1. Martha Stewart’s Valentine Heart Pops
2. Quirky and fabulous cards (if you feel like using snail mail, maybe) from Oh My Word
3. Bacon-themed e-card from SomeEcards
4. DIY Heart Dice for games night via Design Sponge
5. Wearing your heart on your sleeve…and all over, from French Connection
In the centre – sparkler heart!

Peter Gabriel’s “In Your Eyes” (classic from “Say Anything” AND my parents’ wedding song):

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros “Home” (no purer sentiment, but so upbeat):

One thought on “Love Day, 2013

Leave a Reply

