An experiment in Kale

Kale. A simple vegetable from the cabbage family that has suddenly taken on a lot more prominence. Like other leafy green veggies, it has some awesome benefits – it’s chock-full of all those good vitamins (like C and K). In my ongoing quest for healthy snacks, I recently had my first try at kale chips.

Kale chips threw me off. On the one hand, they’re chips which is a total win. On the other hand, they’re chips made out of what is essentially lettuce. On the face of it, that does not sound too tempting. I wasn’t too impressed after trying some store bought ones that I only sort of liked, but then my friend Eszter served up some homemade ones the last time I was over. It was one of the best snacks I’ve ever had – not only do they taste delicious, but they’re so healthy that I didn’t feel the least bit guilt about munching on them all night long.

Because I have to keep my condo in pristine (read: smell-free) shape for the next little while, I wasn’t able to make this recipe at home for this post. But I wanted to share with you what I promise will be a new party favour.

Mmmm kale chips, via Gimme Some Oven

Mmmm kale chips, via Gimme Some Oven

“I can’t believe how easy and fast that was” Homemade Kale Chips

Ingredients

A bunch of fresh Kale
2 tbsp Olive Oil or Olive Oil Spray
Coarse sea salt
Any other spices you want: paprika, sesame seeds, cayenne…

  1. Wash and dry the kale (I use my trusty salad spinner)
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  3. Chop or tear kale into bite sized (about 1″) pieces
  4. In a bowl, drizzle kale with olive oil, rubbing it into the kale with your hands
  5. Place the kale evenly on a parchment-paper lined baking sheet and sprinkle with the salt (and any other spices)
  6. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the kale is dark green and crispy (careful! you need to watch this carefully…kale can quickly go from crunchy to burnt)

You can store these in an airtight container for up to a week but, if you’re anything like me, they’ll likely be gone in one sitting.

Leave a Reply

