I Love Lamp

When Steve Carell’s character in “Anchorman” declared “I love lamp“, we all laughed. But I would argue that his statement is actually full of hidden truths. Lamps are the unsung heroes of any living space, and I’m here today to sing their praises.

I’ve been doing a lot of lamp searching lately for a few reasons. The main reason is the fact that my Eames chair den area is severely lacking in proper lighting (it’s impossible to stay there past dusk and do anything productive). Lamps – floor, wall or table – act as decor pieces and can help bring a room together.

Lighting inspiration:Top L: Spun Floor Lamp from Rove Concepts

Lighting Inspiration:
Top L: Spun Floor Lamp from Rove Concepts
Top Centre: Source Kudu Table Lamp from West Elm
Bottom L: ARC Floor Lamp from Structube
Right: Directeur Table Lamp from Urban Barn

 

So what’s the perfect amount of light? The formula I keep seeing is to take the square footage of each room and multiply it by 1.5. This will give you the total wattage you should put in that room to properly light it. Each room will be different though – you’ll likely have ambient lighting in your bedroom (one light source in the centre of the room), task lighting in your kitchen (like the direct light above your oven), and accent lighting in your living room (one light that is meant to highlight a particular area, usually three times as bright as your ambient light).

Two bulbs I love: energy-saving LED bulb from IKEA on left; stylishly vintage Edison bulb from Restoration Hardware on right

Two bulbs I love: energy-saving LED bulb from IKEA on left; stylishly vintage Edison bulb from Restoration Hardware on right

My other favourite lighting add-on is dimmers. With a dimmer, you can make set the mood with lighting and, being energy-efficient, can also save you some money along the way. While I love candles, nothing beats a good lamp to light up a room.

3 thoughts on “I Love Lamp

  1. Pingback: Colour me… | mahogany bacon

Leave a Reply

