An Apple a Day…

I have a sweet tooth like no other. Dessert is, to me, as important a part of dinner as the main dish. I have had ice cream for breakfast in the past. I can tell you how good a restaurant is based on its molten chocolate lava cake (it’s my version of the Big Mac Index or the Gold Standard). But as time goes on, I’m trying to be more discerning in my quest to quell my desire for sweets. I know it will be a useless endeavour to try to stop snacking altogether, but that doesn’t mean I can’t snack right.

One thing I’ve always loved has been fruit chips and crisps. Banana, mango, apple – they all taste great crisped up. Problem is that all the store bought versions of these chips are loaded with fattening oils, sugar and all sorts of preservatives that take away any nutritional value the fruits may have had. So why not go the healthier, homemade route? You can make as much or as little as you want and you know what’s going into your snack. With that, here is my simple, step by step recipe for making to-die-for Homemade Apple Crisps.

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 250F and get your ingredients ready.

photo (19) copy

Step 2: Slice the apples into paper-thin round strips (I used a knife, but for a more accurate and even slice, I suggest a mandoline). You can either core the apple beforehand or you can cut as-is, making sure you remove any seeds.

photo (20)

Step 3: Place apple slices on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper, making sure that the apple slices don’t overlap.

photo (21)

Step 4: Mix the cinnamon and sugar together and lightly dust the apple slices on both sides. I rub the mixture into each apple slice in order to ensure it sticks.

photo (22)

Step 5: Place baking sheet in oven for 1 hour. After the hour, remove from oven, turn the apple slices over and put back in the over for another 50 minutes – 1 hour.

Step 6: Remove from oven, let cool (this is where they crisp up!) and enjoy!!

photo (23)

4 thoughts on “An Apple a Day…

    • Thanks, Kelly! I found a few ones myself that I’ve bookmarked and can’t wait to try. The party was a lot of fun – looking forward to participating again!

Leave a Reply

