Musical Feelings

Given my love of creating playlists (the new age version of mix CDs) for almost any event from roadtrips to spring cleaning, I thought a music post would be warranted.

For as long as I can remember, music has been a huge part of my life. One of the earliest stories about me involves trying to sing along to a Sting song (“Sooner or Later”). One of the first things I remember seeing on TV is Prince’s “Kiss” music video. Boy bands, classic rock, punk, acid jazz, top 40, old school hip hop, alternative, indie – I’ve gone through a roster of phases and likes. I’m almost confident in saying the only thing I’ve never really been able to listen to is country (though I will admit to humming along to Taylor Swift songs sometimes, if that counts).

With that, here are…

My Top 5 Tunes of Right Now:

Passion Pit – Little Secrets

This song always brings a smile to my face – maybe because of the bouncy, child-voiced chorus. There’s something about this band that screams “summertime” to me, and seeing them live at Osheaga last August solidified that (the day had been largely rainy until they took the stage and the sun came out). Other songs I love by Passion Pit: “Take a Walk” and “Sleepyhead“.

The Lumineers – Ho Hey

I’m loving this indie-folk trend (i.e. Mumford and Sons, Of Monsters and Men…). No question, The Lumineers are one of my favourite new bands, and “Ho Hey” is such a great song. You can’t help but sing along (maybe because it’s on commercials and TV shows galore, already). But “Ho Hey” is just the tip of the iceberg – their self-titled album has been on constant repeat for the past month. Favourite tracks: “Dead Sea”, “Submarine”, and “Slow it Down”.

The Roots – Make My

I absolutely love The Roots (maybe even more so since they became Jimmy Fallon’s house band). “Make My” is the latest single from them, and its classic – great arrangement with lyrics about making something out of yourself. The thing I love about The Roots is how they aren’t just a hip hop act – they take influences from all over and infuse them into their tracks. They also have a fantastic sense of humour (see this Jimmy Fallon sketch with Christina Aguilera).

Regina Spektor – Don’t Leave Me (Ne Me Quitte Pas)

Again, a feel good song. I’ve liked Regina Spektor for years, and “Don’t Leave Me” is definitely one of my favourites of hers. I love the bouncy beat, cute lyrics and French (the Canadian that I am). She’s a great artist with a totally unique sound.

No Doubt – Push and Shove

“Tragic Kindgom” was the first CD I ever owned. The new No Doubt album (their last one in 11 years) is pure, vintage No Doubt – mixing 80s with modern pop with reggae and dancehall. Certainly an awesome comeback that brings me back to my early teens. Other than “Push and Shove”, I love “Undercover” and “Looking Hot“.

If you’re ever in the mood to discover new music, I highly recommend trying Aweditorium (available as a free app for the iPad – I’ve actually spent entire Sunday afternoons just browsing music), Spotify (if you’re in the US or Europe…hopefully it comes to Canada soon!), or Stereomood (my friend Kaili turned me onto this – pick your mood and it generates a free streaming playlist for you!).

3 thoughts on “Musical Feelings

  1. Pingback: Mixtape | mahogany bacon

Leave a Reply

