Can I winterize myself?

I want to get this tattooed. Maybe not literally, but definitely metaphorically

Camping is “the ‘C’ word” for me

Not only do I love not camping, I love not “winter-ing”. I previously alluded to the fact that I all but hibernate during the winter months – in fact, the only thing that stops me from eating my way through spring, summer and fall only to sleep it all off in my cocoon of a bed during winter, is social stigma. I don’t do well in cold weather. My nose, ears and toes always feel like they are on the brink of falling off no matter how many layers I wear and my skill at winter sports is only matched by my skill at deriving complex mathematical equations (in other words, non-existant).

But I have always made a distinct effort to actually take as much advantage of  the 6 months of Canadian winter  as I can (I exaggerate with the timing, of course, because it feels like it drags on for so long…it really only lasts for 5 and a half months). I’ve skied, I’ve snowboarded (mainly on my butt), I’ve skated and I happily attend local Christmas markets. I really do enjoy the holiday season – big pine trees decorated with lights, mulled wine, roaring fires, first snow…it’s just that past about January 2nd, I lose all interest in, and need for, the snow-turned-to-slush and bitter cold that makes my knees hurt.

So I was a little suprised when researching off-the-beaten-path vacations (to be taken at an undecided future date) to find myself in absolute love with a trip idea that encompasses both winter AND camping (sort of). I’m sure that if I were to ever go on this trip, I would spend hundreds in the latest warm clothing technology and still tell tales that recount those horrible nights when I nearly froze to death during my once-in-a-lifetime adventure (I clearly like to exaggerate for emphasis) . But for now, I look at the pictures and can only think – how soon can we go?

Kakslauttanen Hotel, Finland – Finnish-designed glass igloos and, if you’re lucky, you get to sleep under the Aurora Borealis (which I imagine is a humbling and breathtaking experience).

(all images via Kakslauttanen website)

The Igloo village. I can deal with this kind of camping.

The Igloo village. I can deal with this kind of camping.

Stunning - and peaceful - colours

Stunning – and peaceful – colours

Zebra-print bedding aside, what a view!

Zebra-print bedding aside, what a view!

They have real snow igloo options too. Again, given my aversion to water that isn't melted...maybe not.

They have real snow igloo options too. Again, given my aversion to water that isn’t melted…maybe not.

Aurora Borealis

Aurora Borealis

2 thoughts on “Can I winterize myself?

  1. Pingback: 72 Hours in Ottawa | mahogany bacon

Leave a Reply

