Pin-spired

Blogging has always been in the back of my mind as a “one day, maybe…” venture. I tried it back in 2007 before I left for an exchange term abroad. The thinking was that I would have stories! adventures! culinary delights! and write all about them for my friends and family back home to read. Problem was that those stories, adventures and culinary delights took up most of the time I would have devoted to writing about them. 3 unpublished posts later, I can safely say that blog did not take off.

But now that I’ve settled down a little, and have blog-worthy ideas come in spurts rather than 5-month binges, it seems like the right time to give it the old sophomore try.

With that, I want to share some of the blogs that truly inspire me. Whether it’s providing me with DIY projects, new recipes to try, or simply photos and ideas to pin for the future, these sites have definitely made the “bookmarks bar”:

1. Design Sponge : Great Before and Afters (like this and this), with easy-to-find DIY projects (you can search by difficulty, price, technique or furniture). Grace Bonney has an uncanny eye for interior design and has provided me with plenty of inspiration for home colour palettes and motifs for my future house. She also published a book in 2011 filled with stunning photos and tons of design ideas.

Open concept shelving and a stunning farmhouse sink, via Design Sponge

Open concept shelving and a stunning farmhouse sink, via Design Sponge

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

White rooms with dark wood accents are my favourite, via Design Sponge

White rooms with dark wood accents are my favourite, via Design Sponge

 

2. Ruffled Blog : first thing you should know about me is, I’m a girl. I like pretty things, things that are inspiring, things that make me smile. Weddings typically fit the bill on all 3 counts. I found out about Ruffled through my friend who recently got married, while she was busy planning her wedding. The photography is gorgeous and the ideas are divine. I love flowers bouquets inspired by fall, barn weddings with strings of lights, and mason jars as decoration – Ruffled has them all!

All of the (mason jar) lights. via Ruffled Blog.

All of the (mason jar) lights. via Ruffled Blog.

Ombre table setting idea, via Ruffled Blog

Ombre table setting idea, via Ruffled Blog

Communal tables with white table cloths...and a tree branch chandelier

Communal tables with white table cloths…and a tree branch chandelier. Via Ruffled Blog.

 

3. Apartment Therapy : What I love about this blog is the fact that it takes home decor room by room, and often focuses on those smaller spaces (let’s face it – a mansion is not in my immediate future, so I have to learn to make my space work for me). They have before and after, DIY posts with good instruction that look just easy and accessible enough to make me feel like I, too, could do it. Not to mention the fact that I have said “why didn’t I think of that!?” more than once while perusing the blog.

Gorgeous modern bathroom with great layout, via Apartment Therapy

Barcelona chair...one day...

Barcelona chair…one day…

Unique idea for wall decor (that requires a steady hand!), via Apartment Therapy

Unique idea for wall decor (that requires a steady hand!), via Apartment Therapy

 

4.Smitten Kitchen : I love food, and I love reading recipes. Following through and actually cooking those recipes? Well, that may have to be another resolution this year. All that aside, Smitten Kitchen always delivers great ideas for both new and classic dishes (plus a whole section on “disasters”, that kind of make me feel better about some of my kitchen mishaps). My favourite part of this site? The photography. Learn from my mistakes and don’t browse on an empty stomach…everything just looks too good.

Twist on one of my favourite desserts - strawberry shortcake! Via Smitten Kitchen.

Twist on one of my favourite desserts – strawberry shortcake! Via Smitten Kitchen.

Popovers are bar none the best dinner rolls. Light and fluffy - these also have chives and buttermilk (yum).

Popovers are bar none the best dinner rolls. Light and fluffy – these also have chives and buttermilk (yum). Via Smitten Kitchen.

On my list of dishes to attempt to cook. Winter comfort food, mais oui! Via Smitten Kitchen

On my list of dishes to attempt to cook. Winter comfort food, mais oui! Via Smitten Kitchen

Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day. And this hash has bacon in it - how can you go wrong? Via Smitten Kitchen.

Breakfast is my favourite meal of the day. And this hash has bacon in it – how can you go wrong? Via Smitten Kitchen.

3 thoughts on “Pin-spired

  1. Pingback: Mac ‘n Cheese, please | mahogany bacon

Leave a Reply

